Outlines is my new sextet, playing my original compositions. The music evolved out of my Developing Your Creative Practice project (funded by Arts Council England.) Using small visual art sketches as a complementary creative channel, I experimented with composing short musical sketches that stood alone as artistic statements. These short statements are ‘Outlines’ – a springboard for this dynamic ensemble to go in new, exciting directions every time. The sextet played these compositions for the first time at The Vortex, London on 2nd September in preparation for our album recording that October. The album will be released on Whirlwind Recordings in Spring 2023. 

Dee Byrne – Alto saxophone/compositions

Nick Malcolm – Trumpet

Tom Ward – Bass clarinet/clarinet

Rebecca Nash – Piano

Olie Brice – Double bass

Andrew Lisle – Drums